Skip to main content

Stratis Health Twitter Stratis Health LinkedIn Stratis Health YouTube Stratis Health Facebook
Granddaughter hugging grandmother

board of directors

The Stratis Health Board of Directors is an independent, community-based board comprised of professionals representing a broad array of interests, skills, and perspectives. Board members are:

Donna Anderson, MPH: Ms. Anderson is a retired director of the Dakota County Public Health Department, a position held for 22 years. She is an adjunct instructor for public health policy and administration at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health. (2015)

Kathleen Brooks, MD, MBA, Board Chair: Dr. Brooks, MD, MBA, MPA, is the director of the Rural Physician Associate Program at the University of Minnesota Medical School as well as an assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health. (2015)

Connie Delaney, PhD, RN: Dr. Delaney is dean of the School of Nursing at the University of Minnesota, where she is also the director of Biomedical Health Informatics. She is a nationally recognized Health Information Technology (HIT) policy expert. (2014)

Myron Falken, PhD, MPH: Retired epidemiologist at the Minnesota Department of Health and former director of the Isanti/Mille Lacs County Public Health Agency, Mr. Falken currently serves as an instructor of epidemiology and program evaluation for the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and is adjunct assistant professor at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health. (2016)

Huda Farah, MSc: Ms. Farah is a researcher in public health, educator, cultural competency trainer, mentor, coach and a leader in public health and early childhood education. She has produced many educational material videos and is host/producer of TV and radio shows. (2015)

William Jacott, MD: Dr. Jacott is a former trustee of the American Medical Association, past chair of the Joint Commission, and Associate Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine at the University of Minnesota Medical School. (2015)

Ken Johnson, MBA: Ken served as president and CEO of the Saint Paul Port Authority for over 17 years, until his retirement in 2008. Ken also has been the director of planning and economic development for the City of Saint Paul. He is currently a board member of the City of Woodbury’s Economic Development Authority, the Livable Communities Advisory Committee of the Metropolitan Council, and the Ramsey County Historical Society. (2016)

Mary Jo Kreitzer, PhD, RN, FAAN: Ms. Kreitzer is founder and director of the Center for Spirituality & Healing, and is a professor at the University of Minnesota School of Nursing. (2015)

Clinton MacKinney, MD, MS: Dr. MacKinney is a board-certified family physician delivering emergency medicine services in rural Minnesota; assistant professor, Department of Health Policy and Management, University of Iowa; and a member of the Rural Policy Research Institute Health (RUPRI) Panel.  (2014)

Jan Malcolm: Jan is President, Courage Kenny Foundation and Vice President, Public Affairs for Allina Health. Ms. Malcolm served as a senior program officer for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and as Commissioner of Health for the State of Minnesota from. She currently serves as a board member of the Bush Foundation, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Minnesota and the BCBSM Foundation, and the Board of Visitors of the Rockefeller Center at her alma mater, Dartmouth College. (2016)

Beth Monsrud, CPA: Ms. Monsrud is senior vice president and chief financial officer of of UCare Minnesota, a health plan long known for its work with diverse and underserved populations. (2014)

Michael Spilane, MD: Dr. Spilane recently retired from HealthPartners Medical Group.  He serves as a board member on the Volunteers of America National Services. (2015)

Craig Svendsen, MD: Retired chief medical quality officer and physician lead for HealthEast Care System’s Quality Institute and Quality Program, Dr. Svendsen is board certified in family medicine. (2015)

Stella Whitney-West, MBA: Stella is CEO of NorthPoint Health & Wellness Center, a federally qualified health center with medical, dental, behavioral health and human services, which is part of Hennepin County. She serves on the Minnesota Health Exchange Advisory Task Force and on the board of directors for Urban Home Works and Twin Cities LISC and serves as board chair of the Minnesota Association of Community Health Centers. (2016)

Gary Wingrove: Mr. Wingrove represents Gold Cross/Mayo Clinic Transport out of Rochester, Minnesota. He is also president of the Center for Leadership, Innovation and Research in EMS, and he cofounded the first international EMS anonymous patient safety reporting system, the EMS Voluntary Event Notification Tool (EVENT), which serves the United States and Canada. (2014)

Stratis Health currently has 15 members on its Board of Directors, with a bylaws cap of 15 members. Board members are elected for three-year terms of service, with a cap of two three-year terms. The end of the current term for each board member is noted in parentheses after each Board member. Potential board members are identified by a nominating committee when there are vacancies on the board. New board members are approved and elected by the full board. Board members do not receive compensation for their service on the Stratis Health Board.